Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

* * * * * 1 votes

SmartBro Canopy Software Update, How to? (w/ screenshots)


  • Please log in to reply
362 replies to this topic

#301 Guest_adz1922_*

Guest_adz1922_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 May 2008 - 08:01 PM

will it improve anything???? or just for better visuals?

#302 ianonline

ianonline

    TMN Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 504 posts
  • Location: Cebu

Posted 04 May 2008 - 06:41 AM

base on my assessment it did not change anything with regards to my internet speed. but it gives you some new options to tweak around.. though i don't know exactly what it is for.

and also another thing you will get is the boost in self esteem knowing that you got the current software version of your canopy. :)

#303 etgo

etgo

    Earning Trust

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 May 2008 - 07:04 PM

i follow the instruction in page 1, then when im about to click refresh/discover selected network elements, i got error msg "not ressponding". sira na ba yung antenna ko?

#304 zenitheous

zenitheous

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Location: bulacan

Posted 28 May 2008 - 07:45 PM

omg.. i did it.. i finaly upgraded my canopy..  worth it??? uhm............ heheheh.. hi everybody..

#305 tablet

tablet

    Earning Trust

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 May 2008 - 11:06 PM

:cheesy: whew. what the heck is cnut. noob here i am sorry for asking stupid question

#306 ianonline

ianonline

    TMN Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 504 posts
  • Location: Cebu

Posted 01 June 2008 - 05:37 AM

cnut is the one that you use to do the tweaks.. hehe.

#307 gsm_infos

gsm_infos

    Earning Trust

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 June 2008 - 12:23 PM

good AM, were can i find CNUT 1.1??to upgrade 7.2.9 to 7.3.6...and follwed by 8 version..i cant see in motorolasite.. :sad3:

#308 EngrJayze

EngrJayze

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location: Dagupan City, Pangasinan Philippines

Posted 11 June 2008 - 09:26 PM

hello guys!..i'm back!.. on may17 my canopy antenna was toppled down by storm Cosme..i got it recently replaced..i am very happy to find out that my speed was even faster even though the RSSI came down from 800+ to only 400+..as you notice the software version is now 8.2.1 unlike my old antenna which has 8.1.5[i updated it to 8.2.2]..a 7mbps Aggregate was also present which i changed my Uplink + Downlink to 3500kbps from the default 500kbps..i experienced a major speed boost upon changing the values..
but i have some questions which i hope expert members here can answer thoroughly:
1. I'm planning to update the software version of my new canopy to 8.2.2 from 8.2.1- will the update remove or change the 7mbps aggegate feature - or is it coded into the antenna's hardware and updating the software will not change/remove  it?
2. I changed my uplink and downlink from 500 to 3500kbps each - is it ok to retain this setting - and what about the Uplink/Downlink Burst Allocation - do i also need to change it in lieu to the uplink/downlink data rate?
3. Are there any of you here tried software version 8.2.4? any comments?

Pardon the many questions but i hope you can share your knowledge and enlighten me.

here take a look:
Posted Image
Posted Image

#309 coolbuster2007

coolbuster2007

    TMN Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,189 posts

Posted 12 June 2008 - 12:53 AM

1. No. it will not change the aggregate.
2. you can increase you burst allocations to the maximum, if not possible, make it half.
3. haven't tried 8.2.4 yet. do you have the link? could be helpful.

  :smiley:

#310 EngrJayze

EngrJayze

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location: Dagupan City, Pangasinan Philippines

Posted 12 June 2008 - 01:15 AM

1. No. it will not change the aggregate.
2. you can increase you burst allocations to the maximum, if not possible, make it half.
3. haven't tried 8.2.4 yet. do you have the link? could be helpful.

  :smiley:


are you sure the 7mbps aggregate will stay even though i update the canopy software?..i will proceed with the update then..

i will try to put  my Uplink/Downlink Burst Allocation to 10,500 because on the original setting the U/D Data rate is 500 and the Uplink/Downlink Burst Allocation is 1500 so it follows that if i change U/D Data rate to 3500:Uplink/Downlink Burst Allocation=10500..

i saw http://motorola.moto...s.com/software/
they already have Canopy Release Notes v8.2.4 for 8.2.4 version..i'll try to update to the latest version and i will keep you posted if it's okay

#311 coolbuster2007

coolbuster2007

    TMN Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,189 posts

Posted 12 June 2008 - 01:23 AM

ok so you got a formula on the burst allocation.

can't wait for your post-update post.

please do keep us posted.  :smiley:

#312 EngrJayze

EngrJayze

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location: Dagupan City, Pangasinan Philippines

Posted 12 June 2008 - 01:26 AM

ok will do..hope the latest version works.. i can't afford to have a third canopy antenna.. :grin:

#313 coolbuster2007

coolbuster2007

    TMN Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,189 posts

Posted 12 June 2008 - 01:51 AM

just make sure you have your computer and canopy power adaptor plugged in to a UPS in case of fluctuation or black out during the process...or else you'll be forced to get that 3rd antenna you were talking about  :cheesy:

#314 EngrJayze

EngrJayze

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location: Dagupan City, Pangasinan Philippines

Posted 12 June 2008 - 02:08 AM

just make sure you have your computer and canopy power adaptor plugged in to a UPS in case of fluctuation or black out during the process...or else you'll be forced to get that 3rd antenna you were talking about :cheesy:


nah..luck is on my side now..what i'm most worried about is lightnings ..it's about to rain and there is always thunderstorms here..i wonder if the 300SS surge suppressor intalled with the canopy outside will protect my pc.. are they supposed to be grounded first? because mine isn't connected to the ground

btw i updated my canopy to 8.2.4 and so far no glitches..you're right - 7mbps aggregate still remained..bye now, i'll just reboot my pc..
here is the shot:
Posted Image

#315 ayashino

ayashino

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 12 June 2008 - 09:09 AM

guys about motowi4solution site wer can i find my motorola ccn#??? kindly help me pls im noob :cheesy:

#316 EngrJayze

EngrJayze

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location: Dagupan City, Pangasinan Philippines

Posted 12 June 2008 - 03:15 PM

guys about motowi4solution site wer can i find my motorola ccn#??? kindly help me pls im noob :cheesy:


on the webpage there is a form..

Just "Enter your name", "Enter a valid email address", "Enter your Unit MAC Address (ESN)"..leave the "Enter your Motorola CCN#" blank..

you can find the value you need to type in "Enter your Unit MAC Address (ESN)" by accessing your Canopy Homepage,169.254.1.1, and find:
"Device Type : 5.7GHz - Subscriber Module - 01-00-4a-b0-c5-6d" ... the 01-00-4a-b0-c5-6d string is your MAC Address

#317 ayashino

ayashino

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 12 June 2008 - 09:46 PM

sir ive folow your tut but stil dont have recieve any email from motowi4...do i also nid to dl the prizm 3.0??? or CNUT only? thnx for help

#318 EngrJayze

EngrJayze

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location: Dagupan City, Pangasinan Philippines

Posted 12 June 2008 - 11:23 PM

make sure you enter the correct MAC address and a valid email address in the form and press Submit.. upon pressing submit you will be directed to the download page, check the files you need, and click "Accept User Agreement and Request Download Links"..then you will receive an email from motorola which contains the links to the checked files you want to download earlier..

download CNUT only if you want to update your canopy (CNUT2 for .pkg2 / CNUT3 for .pkg3)..i suggest you download the latest version of CNUT 2 and use the appropriate .pkg2 update file..Prizm is not necessary unless you want to go more "advanced"..

#319 ayashino

ayashino

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 12 June 2008 - 11:49 PM

thnx paps ive already update my canopy to 8.2.2 ..but stil 1mbps aggregate how can i make it 7mbps like yours and also may canopy boot is 1  yours is 3??? do have any idea about this.. thnx a lot

#320 EngrJayze

EngrJayze

    Jr. Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Location: Dagupan City, Pangasinan Philippines

Posted 13 June 2008 - 01:19 AM

my canopyboot is still 1.0.. i've seen others who have 3.0 but i don't know how to update the canopyboot..

i guess the 7 mbps is already "built-in" on the canopy antenna..there is nothing you can do about it unless you are adept with the hardware..
my first antenna also had 1 mbps aggregate but i had it recently replaced because of that damn storm Cosme.. luckily the new one had 7mbps..hehe  :evil:


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Speed Test Version 14.12
© 2014 TestMy Net LLC - TestMy.net - Terms & Privacy