weird IMs sent to me
#1
Posted 13 March 2008 - 07:08 PM
"Dear AIM customer, it has come to the attention that your account may be infiltrated by malicious software from an external source designed to disrupt local server ports in your area. AIM Customer Service has been notified that account name (screen name) is causing several interruptions in the AIM local network connection in Fresh Meadows, NY. In order to fix this problem, AIM must verify that you are, indeed, the legitimate user of this account. Your password is needed to confirm your identity and can be sent via this bot. Failure to comply with the following procedure aforementioned may result in a deletion of your account in the next several days. AIM will then proceed to notify you when the problem has been fixed via the alternate e-mail address you provided when you first registered your screen name. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you.
9:30 PM
Warning. You have five minutes before account deletion."
AOL never asks for your password right? It obviously looks fake but has anyone seen it before?
Then I got these other ims saying stuff like "Oh I found your sn on this website" and they knew where I lived. Another sn had my name in the screenname as well which kind of freaked me out. Has this happened to other people as well? Does this mean I'm going to have to delete my sn and make a new one?
#2
Posted 13 March 2008 - 07:24 PM
#3
Posted 13 March 2008 - 07:31 PM
I also download torrents a lot so could it be possible that some sites I get torrents from take my information?
#4
Posted 13 March 2008 - 09:28 PM
#5
Posted 14 March 2008 - 05:27 AM
#6
Posted 14 March 2008 - 06:17 AM
in ur messerger settings...they all have privacy settings...aim says "allow only users on my buddy list" adjust ur settings so that only people on ur list can contact u
#7
Posted 14 March 2008 - 06:30 AM
Quote
I also download torrents a lot so could it be possible that some sites I get torrents from take my information?
If they were putting spyware on your computer they could potentially take stuff off your computer.
#8
Posted 14 March 2008 - 06:38 AM
#9
Posted 14 March 2008 - 11:28 AM
#10
Posted 14 March 2008 - 12:00 PM
Quote
No your OS has nothing to do with it, its within the AIM network, I wouldn't be worried about much, I have been using AIM since 99 now and have been getting BS messages like that before. Its hilarious to me!
#11
Posted 14 March 2008 - 12:02 PM
#12
Posted 14 March 2008 - 01:48 PM
#13
Posted 15 March 2008 - 03:54 AM
Quote
Eventually they will. I wish my gmail spam would.
But seriously, one of the first things that should be done is what tdawnaz said. Allow only buddies (if you MUST use AIM, that is) or contacts or whatever they are called in the IM that you use.
#14
Posted 23 July 2008 - 11:02 AM
#15
Posted 23 July 2008 - 12:52 PM
#16
Posted 17 July 2009 - 07:22 AM
==> ... Your password is needed to confirm your identity and can be sent via this bot...
seems like someone is trying to get your password.
agree with MttFrog13; "phishing" attempt.
"Defenseshieldbot" is an account that will "get" your password. IF you happen to "give" your password, the person behind "Defenseshieldbot" CAN and maybe, do something "illegal", using Your Account.
IMO, AIM or any company that issues legit announcements or notices like what you received, will have an email address that ends with their companies' site; xxx@yahoo.com, yyy@gmail.com, and the likes.
#17
Posted 17 July 2009 - 08:31 AM
#18
Posted 17 July 2009 - 04:49 PM
#19
Posted 17 July 2009 - 05:28 PM
#20
Posted 17 July 2009 - 06:04 PM
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users













