Jump to content


- - - - -

BestAntivirus2009


  • You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 tommie gorman

    TMN Seasoned Veteran

  • Sophist Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,885 posts
  • Location: western missouri

Posted 27 August 2008 - 09:35 AM

Just got the suprised. Was just fooling and looking at an add on the side of google. Popped it and let it run a free scan. BIG NO NO. Damned thing put a virus in and AVG stopped it. So what ever you do do not use this site.
BestAntivirus2009.com

Just a warning is all. And of course it said it had found stuff on my puter.  :uglystupid2:  "REALLY" Wonder how it got there.  :cheesy:

Recommended Download

#2 destructionfever

    TMN Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 27 August 2008 - 12:12 PM

Yeah, it's a good thing AVG was patched recently to fix it. I fixed this issue manually a couple of weeks ago on a friend's computer because AVG,avast, and avira were not yet patched to fix this antivirus 2009. You never want to run a free scan from a pop-up or from a site you can't trust. It's likely that when they actually give you your "free scan" they are actually apply the garbage to your system. It's a shame people do these things. I also read that with antivirus2009 it is like extortion because they convince you the only way to fix it is to pay them to clean it off your system. I haven't heard of anyone actually paying these people but something tells me that if you were to give them the money it would make matters worse and not better. Luckily I told my friend not to buy the program as she almost did. I can't believe google would have ads that can cause harm to your computer. I thought they screened companies that advertise with them. geez! :angry:

#3 x_6985381

    Expert

  • News Anchor
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,204 posts
  • Location: Fountain Inn, South Carolina.

Posted 27 August 2008 - 07:51 PM

Gotta love when people test stuff for ya. Sorry it had to be you this time Tommie. :buck2:

#4 tommie gorman

    TMN Seasoned Veteran

  • Sophist Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,885 posts
  • Location: western missouri

Posted 27 August 2008 - 07:54 PM

Hey,    :lol:  AVG free held up.

#5 ghostmaster

    Expert

  • Sophist Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,241 posts
  • Location: Sharing a cigarette with negativity...

Posted 27 August 2008 - 08:38 PM

We get clones of this all the GD time at work.  I have to re-ghost a machine tomorrow for this moron who keeps getting these.  They are variations of the trojan.vundo virus.  These are the worst kind.....

I think I might just take her computer from her.....

#6 destructionfever

    TMN Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 31 August 2008 - 01:18 PM

I ran into an interesting thing the other night. I am a bit tired of Comcast so I decided to do a google search with the keyword Comcast alternatives (and my area code). I then clicked on a link that mcafee site advisor told me was a healthy legit link. After I clicked this link my browser page minimized and I had a pop-up in the middle of my screen telling me that I had a virus and that I should proceed and click the link to download antivirus 2009. This happened a day or so after we talked about it in these posts. I'm gonna put out a recommendation to people since it worked for me. To get rid of the pop-up I did control alt delete and ended firefox (I never ever clicked the pop-up) don't even get tempted to click the big X in the upper right hand corner. If lets say control alt delete doesn't work I personally would power off my computer...start it up again,run ccleaner, and do your own anti-virus/anti-spy-ware scans. I got to say control alt delete worked for me to get rid of the pop-up and I did what I listed above and I haven't had any pop-ups or suspicious behavior on my computer after that. Be careful even when google and mcafee site advisor say a site is legit. Just trying to put the word out. :smile2: Isn't it a bit suspicious that when I googled Comcast alternatives that is what came up...hmm I tried re-googling it after to report the link to these forums and to mcafee but I couldn't find the link again to report it. I highly doubt I misspelled it but there is a chance I guess. Just glad that I didn't get infected.

#7 Conuck

    TMN Seasoned Veteran

  • Moderators
  • 7,068 posts
  • Location: Kentucky

Posted 31 August 2008 - 01:53 PM

You have good common sense! Posted Image





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users