Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo
- - - - -

Problems getting correct speed measurement


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#21 thomasrelee

thomasrelee

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 October 2011 - 03:20 AM

Here's another test, this time using the maximum size of 200MB:

Posted Image

SWEET!

I do not know if me being close to DC has any effect, but who cares. I'll take excellent results anytime!!!

TWC Road Runner peers in Herdon, VA, so at least it has a small trip to DC from there and I can see their peering agreement seems to work out nicely when it comes to most services run out of DC and surrounding areas.

:cool:

#22 CA3LE

CA3LE

    TestMy.net Webmaster

  • Administrator
  • 7,708 posts
  • Location: 00110111 00110001 00111001

Posted 04 October 2011 - 03:39 AM



Not bad at all - but you did not have to go through all of this... Thank you!!! That is the least I can say!

Posted Image

Almost always testing against the DC server, the tests are over my lines rated speed of 15 mbps, averaging 17.35 mbps for 11 randomly run tests over the past three hours!!!

One or two of the tests somehow were launched from the Dallas server ( I guess it is due to some configurations you are still working on, and I did not include them in the above average ), but DC seems like they have their routing/peering in great shape. As for the tests that hit the Dallas server, they were still well below my lines rated speed.

I hope your host finds whatever the bug is for your Dallas server and squashes it.


No problem, I need more servers. You just gave me a good excuse to do it. Yeah, I'm still working on it. There's going to most likely be issues and bugs with it for a while. It a humungous upgrade... luckily I've written the prerequisites for this already and have been planning it in the back-end over the past 14 months... --- I think I can just clone this server I setup today and open more from here. Maybe one more in the US, in Seattle... one in Amsterdam and One in Singapore. That should cover most of the worlds population... don't get me wrong, they can still test to the US server... I feel that's a great benchmark. But they'll also be able to test on a server closer to home, using TestMy.net's technology. ... so yeah, your post opened a can of worms.

As for Dallas, I'm sure they'll fix it promptly. They actually replied a loooong time ago but I got off on a tangent setting up that server. Anyways, here's their response.

Screen Shot 2011-10-04 at 3.32.19 AM.png

I've given them your subnet to trace. If they have a problem on their end they'll fix it. I'll let you know when I know more.

"Working to improve our Internet one connection at a time."
CA3LE.png


#23 mudmanc4

mudmanc4

    TMN Seasoned Veteran

  • Moderators
  • 10,379 posts
  • Location: In The Plex

Posted 04 October 2011 - 04:45 AM

Much closer to what the connection size is, uhhm , yea :)
D.C.

Posted Image

And to Dallas

Posted Image

change.png

mudmanc4.png mudmanc4.png


#24 thomasrelee

thomasrelee

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 October 2011 - 04:51 AM

Some traces run during a few tests against Dallas are still randomly showing a problem from here. Here is some more ammo for you if needed, hop 8 is still flapping...:


traceroute to 174.120.187.140 (174.120.187.140), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 10.241.192.1 (10.241.192.1) 7.426 ms 7.403 ms 7.387 ms
2 gi15-0-0-3101.gnboncsg-rtr2.triad.rr.com (24.28.225.189) 8.236 ms 8.271 ms 8.260 ms
3 24.93.64.76 (24.93.64.76) 15.624 ms 15.601 ms 15.575 ms
4 107.14.19.18 (107.14.19.18) 19.678 ms 19.807 ms 19.858 ms
5 107.14.19.11 (107.14.19.11) 19.857 ms 22.845 ms 23.664 ms
6 TenGigabitEthernet9-2.ar1.ATL2.gblx.net (64.212.108.69) 25.908 ms 17.835 ms 17.650 ms
7 The-Planet-Dallas.TenGigabitEthernet6-2.ar5.DAL2.gblx.net (67.17.168.94) 35.885 ms 35.582 ms 35.377 ms
8 te2-4.dsr01.dllstx3.networklayer.com (70.87.255.38) 35.039 ms 95.041 ms 94.897 ms
9 * * *
10 a.ff.5746.static.theplanet.com (70.87.255.10) 38.239 ms 36.668 ms 37.068 ms
11 8c.bb.78ae.static.theplanet.com (174.120.187.140) 37.740 ms 34.289 ms 34.282 ms



traceroute to 174.120.187.140 (174.120.187.140), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
1 10.241.192.1 (10.241.192.1) 6.770 ms 10.888 ms 10.937 ms
2 gi15-0-0-3101.gnboncsg-rtr2.triad.rr.com (24.28.225.189) 11.632 ms 11.673 ms 11.669 ms
3 24.93.64.76 (24.93.64.76) 14.450 ms 14.604 ms 14.657 ms
4 107.14.19.18 (107.14.19.18) 19.786 ms 19.850 ms 19.890 ms
5 107.14.19.11 (107.14.19.11) 19.879 ms 19.999 ms 20.129 ms
6 TenGigabitEthernet9-2.ar1.ATL2.gblx.net (64.212.108.69) 20.130 ms 20.892 ms 20.764 ms
7 The-Planet-Dallas.TenGigabitEthernet6-2.ar5.DAL2.gblx.net (67.17.168.94) 34.541 ms 42.091 ms 41.982 ms
8 te2-4.dsr01.dllstx3.networklayer.com (70.87.255.38) 86.209 ms 64.524 ms 64.503 ms
9 * * *
10 a.ff.5746.static.theplanet.com (70.87.255.10) 38.708 ms 34.409 ms 34.546 ms
11 8c.bb.78ae.static.theplanet.com (174.120.187.140) 34.015 ms 37.687 ms 37.616 ms



1 10.241.192.1 (10.241.192.1) 16.834 ms 16.734 ms 16.710 ms
2 gi15-0-0-3101.gnboncsg-rtr2.triad.rr.com (24.28.225.189) 16.684 ms 16.674 ms 16.661 ms
3 24.93.64.76 (24.93.64.76) 18.776 ms 18.833 ms 18.822 ms
4 107.14.19.18 (107.14.19.18) 26.382 ms 26.437 ms 26.439 ms
5 107.14.19.11 (107.14.19.11) 24.176 ms 24.247 ms 24.257 ms
6 TenGigabitEthernet9-2.ar1.ATL2.gblx.net (64.212.108.69) 213.257 ms 170.827 ms 170.841 ms
7 The-Planet-Dallas.TenGigabitEthernet6-2.ar5.DAL2.gblx.net (67.17.168.94) 39.251 ms 44.147 ms 44.439 ms
8 te2-4.dsr01.dllstx3.networklayer.com (70.87.255.38) 212.151 ms 212.196 ms 193.621 ms
9 * * *
10 a.ff.5746.static.theplanet.com (70.87.255.10) 37.439 ms 33.832 ms 37.852 ms
11 8c.bb.78ae.static.theplanet.com (174.120.187.140) 35.941 ms 35.953 ms 35.945 ms



1 10.241.192.1 (10.241.192.1) 9.149 ms 9.227 ms 9.289 ms
2 gi15-0-0-3101.gnboncsg-rtr2.triad.rr.com (24.28.225.189) 10.258 ms 10.247 ms 10.243 ms
3 24.93.64.76 (24.93.64.76) 13.008 ms 13.070 ms 13.060 ms
4 107.14.19.18 (107.14.19.18) 18.111 ms 18.171 ms 18.157 ms
5 107.14.19.11 (107.14.19.11) 18.355 ms 18.418 ms 20.604 ms
6 TenGigabitEthernet9-2.ar1.ATL2.gblx.net (64.212.108.69) 65.062 ms 34.664 ms 34.709 ms
7 The-Planet-Dallas.TenGigabitEthernet6-2.ar5.DAL2.gblx.net (67.17.168.94) 34.122 ms 35.800 ms 35.813 ms
8 te2-4.dsr01.dllstx3.networklayer.com (70.87.255.38) 72.723 ms 57.524 ms 57.543 ms
9 * * *
10 a.ff.5746.static.theplanet.com (70.87.255.10) 38.627 ms 40.526 ms 40.463 ms
11 8c.bb.78ae.static.theplanet.com (174.120.187.140) 40.376 ms 40.360 ms 33.915 ms

#25 TriRan

TriRan

    Expert

  • Moderators
  • 1,327 posts
  • Location: Arizona

Posted 04 October 2011 - 10:05 AM

I think my issue is probably somewhere local here CA3LE probably some local node I go through that you dont

CPU: AMD Phenomâ„¢II X4 955 BE Processor - 4.1GHz | MB: GIGABYTE 990FXA-UD3
RAM: Wintec XMP1600 DDR3 - 8.00GB @ 1600MHz | Video Card: Sapphire HD Radeon (Cypress XT) 5870 2GB | HDD0-3: 1.8TB
Network: Realtek 1Gb Ethernet, Asus 1Gb Switch, D-Link DIR-655, Motorola SB 6120
TriRan.png
TriRan.png


#26 TriRan

TriRan

    Expert

  • Moderators
  • 1,327 posts
  • Location: Arizona

Posted 04 October 2011 - 05:22 PM


You know Cox in our area is quoting Ultimate as 55Mbps / 5.5Mbps not 50/5 now. --- at least that's what came up on Cox's website the other day.

sorry i just noticed what you said there CA3LE, thats what it says "with powerboost" it states regular download speeds are still only 50/5 where did you see the update?

btw how come Premier service gets a higher powerboost upload speed then us ultimate users? >.<

cox.jpg

CPU: AMD Phenomâ„¢II X4 955 BE Processor - 4.1GHz | MB: GIGABYTE 990FXA-UD3
RAM: Wintec XMP1600 DDR3 - 8.00GB @ 1600MHz | Video Card: Sapphire HD Radeon (Cypress XT) 5870 2GB | HDD0-3: 1.8TB
Network: Realtek 1Gb Ethernet, Asus 1Gb Switch, D-Link DIR-655, Motorola SB 6120
TriRan.png
TriRan.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Speed Test Version 13.7
© 2013 TestMy Net LLC - TestMy.net - Terms & Privacy