Network Primer Part I

unstable

Network Primer Part I - Submitted by UNSTABLE

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hate writing, I actually despise it. Putting thoughts into words and trying to talk about something like networking is a major pain in the butt. But I've always believed in sharing information with people, if someone gets something useful out of this document, then I guess it was worth my time and effort to type it up.

Networking...there is more that I don't know about networks than I do. After being involved with computers for years and learning a little here and a little there, I actually started putting stuff together and it began to all make sense. Despite what pre-concieved notions that people may have about my skill level, I'm NOT a network technician. From 9-5 each day I work as a glorified help desk attendant. I run around and fix paper jams in printers, install operating systems and applications and do all of the normal crap a help desk guy would. I guess the only thing that sets me apart from a standard help desk attendant is that I am responsible for 160 some-odd computers, 20 some-odd enterprise servers, some switches and some firewalls. I know a little about alot of things.

Desktop Computer

On your computer, click "start-->run" and then type "CMD" press enter.

From the command line type "ipconfig"

You should get something like:

quote:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

C:Documents and Settingsunstable>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : myhost

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :mydnssuffix

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : somenet.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : somenet.net