Help Installing programs on Linux OS

Danny_Boy_69

Ok so basically by the title i have just installed linux Mandriva 2007...... wanted to give linux a try summert different than windows gettin bored with XP but me being didnt think everythin that would change and 1 thing i didnt think of is .exe files... Windows has exe files to easily install anythin but i have just tried getting the latest drives for my video card from nvidia and it came down as .run file so doulble as you do and came up with this window i cant remember but i click on it and it comes up with like a window with what looks like code in there....

I was just wondering how do you actually install apps on linux....

Such as Noob question but hey we gotta start somewhere......

DannyBoy

No such thing as a noob here friend, everyone was new at everything at one time. Well I say that since noob (geez I hate that word) is usually used negatively. Anyway Im just flapping my gums since I dont know much about linux but I bet some of the other guys will. I will be watching this post I would like to learn the answer too. Good luck.  :D

First shug hit it on the head.. there is really no such thing as a noob on this forum.. Just people who are trying to do something for the first time.  I was a "noob" about a year and a half ago..  Now I administrate 2 servers and own a laptop all running SuSE..

So now onto the question..

There are different formats for programs that you would install.  RPM and Binary/Source....

First RPM.. this is what I would recommend for someone who is just starting if your distribution supports RPM.. I think most do but not 100% sure.  This is the .exe of linux.  You run a command or use a GUI to install the program and everything works.  There are some drawbacks but it does really effect users that are just getting started.