need some motherboard advice.....

intense

I have to replace my motherboard. Its something I have never done before. I am debateing on how to do it. Should I do it myself or pay someone else. The only thing that worries me is my cpu, and screwing it up. I have a bad dimm slot and the motherboard is still under warranty. The place I got it from will exchange or credit my account, which is fine because I will be getting my video card from them anyway. Here is my game plan and sure could use any and all imput. Thank you all. I don't have a floppy but will make sure I have the bios to flash it on cd before I start.

1. The motherboard is on a removable tray so getting to it is super easy.

2. I will buy the same exact motherboard,

3. I have a diagram to the motherboard. I will tag each wire with a number and on the diagramm make sure I put the number of the wire that  goes to that slot.

4. Will take a pictue before I start takeing it apart just to help in case.

Am I missing anything?  The motherboard itself is close to a hundred bucks. Its not that expensive. Just seems pointless to ship the whole computer back. Shipping would be probally atleast 100 bucks.

Hi intense , have a read of this http://www.motherboards.org/articles/guides/35_1.html

most connectors only fit one place , but labeling them +pics is a good idea,

the CPU/heat sink /paste , is the tricky bit for the first time , don't force anything , and take antistatic precautions ,

I am not actually sure on your bios bit , that should be set ok on the new board (maybe at default setting ) look out for jumpers on the board ,

it should come with documentation ,