svchost.exe eating up cpu (99%)

paulC1986

hi guys me posting agen lol i have a problem that i think is quite common with windows xp sp2  every so often for no apparent reason one of the svchost.exe processes running in task manager window is really hammering my cpu and makes it impossible to do anything else until its finished doing whatever it is its doing. now my mate says that svchost.exe is a service host and aloows many other vital windows processes to function such as sound etc. combined with my low internet speed is this a virus? is there any way i can  look into whats is using the host and see if the process is legit eg windows update or summat?

my specs are

amd sempron 2400+

512 ddr ram (400mhz)

3dfx nvidia geforce 6200 pci graphics card( a b*tch to get working)

d-link gigabit ethernet card

running windows xp sp2

(yes i know its rubbish but i am a poor student who wastes his money on partying lol)

Sounds like a virus/trojan/spyware...

If you boot into safe mode, does it still use the same resources?

Try running multiple online scans if you can.  It is possible whatever virus/trojan you have may not be detected by your AV, or it has disabled it somehow.

http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php?filter=svchost.exe Check that link out, if may help you better determine the problem.

interestingly i have just plugged into a different socket on the router and i am now running faster. however i am in safe mode so any trojan/spyware/viruses wont be running. so my svchost doesn't glitch. hmm ill post again with speed in normal running mode

heres my safemode stats  Your connection is: 512 Kbps or 0.5 Mbps

You downloaded at: 63 kB/s

You are running: 9 times faster than 56K and can download 1 megabyte in 16.25 second(s)

Member Ident:Username:paulC1986 CompID:7535454292

Test Time:: 2007/05/08 - 6:05pm

Test Browser and OS info: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.3) Gecko/20070309 Firefox/2.0.0.3