All ports used on router. need more.

AJL77

Hello everyone,

Newbie here and I appreciate any help I can get.

OK this is my set up as of right now.

I have a Verizon dsl using a westell 327w wireless router.

All 4 ports and 1 wireless connection.

the 4 ports are set up this way:

1 port directly to the PC next to the router.

3 others hard wired ports run down to back of house:

1 of the 3 ports to another PC

2  port run to my HD receiver

3  port run to my XBOX

the wireless is connected to my WII

OK so thats all 4 ports used.

My last port that i ran to the jack for my XBOX, I also have another HD receiver which I want to connect to the router.

I have a Linksys wrt54gs laying around.  (it was replaced by the verizon westell)  I was wondering and hoping if I could take that last port which I hard wired to an ethernet jack and connected to my XBOX and split it. 

By splitting I mean:  taking a ethernet cable from the jack into the Linksys router and then use the 2 ports to go to my XBOX and my HD receiver.

Verizon tells me to call Linksys and Linksys tells me to call Verizon.  Hence my dilema.

If anyone has any ideas that would be great.

Hope i can get this to work.

Andy

this is simple. Take a ethernet cable from the last port on the verizon router and plug it into the wan on the linksys. Put the linksys in automatic DHCP, and turn the firewall off on the linksys, and make sure UNPN is on. 

After that you should have a internet connection on the linksys router. Plug your xbox into it and there should be no problem playing. if you do have an issue connecting to games, Put the linksys router in the DMZ in the verizon router.

this is simple. Take a ethernet cable from the last port on the verizon router and plug it into the wan on the linksys. Put the linksys in automatic DHCP, and turn the firewall off on the linksys, and make sure UNPN is on.