Urgent help needed!

Hey guys, first time posting here so I'm praying someone on here can help because I'm in a serious pinch atm.  I'm seriously about to just unplug my net and reformat EVERYTHING, with no back up! Ok hopefully I can explain this well enough without taking forever.

Roommate lets "time Warner guy" to do an unscheduled, by myself or TWC Co., Quality Check.  This guy was driving a personal vehicle that was awesome btw sick rims and everything, with a huge orange cone behind him in the apartment parking lot, oh and a big decal of TWC on the side driver door.  Anyway, I get home when the dudes packed up and leaving to go screw someone else over probably but not even 2-3 minutes after he left my modem/router that I've been renting for 2 years now from TWC restarts.  Thought the network was just refreshing or something, NOPE. For about 2-3 hours it went from resetting itself to be active for maybe at most 60 seconds before resetting and going through the reset process again.  It eventually stopped.

At the time my setup was the ubee modem/router > my linksys router > my desktop.  Never had to bridge anything, never had a call or letter from TWC about our downloading, which I'm sure was absurdly high.  Now this dude comes unscheduled to check everyone in the apartment complex...  Going on now,the morning after he came, @ 9am, starts doing the same thing, for 4-5 hours I'm on the phone with dumb techs, finally get a smart guy that recognizes that I know a bit more about networking and computers than the avg computer and we start to debug the situation.  We end up concluding that we just need a new modem cuz for whateverr reason, the one i had took a poop too big and is malfunctioning so lets replace it with a diff.  Sounds like another TWC story i read about.. i took Screen shots of settings of the modem and packet sniffing but doesn't seem to label the culprit