How does a WISP work?

rrr10

Hi,

I hope this is an appropriate question for this forum. Please let me know if there is a better forum/site/book to get this info. I can't find anything in a web search on this.....

I'm trying to understand how a WISP system operates, particularly between the hardware at the local provider's tower to how it connects to the transceiver/dish on my roof. I'm an electrical engineer (IC designer), so I'm looking for basic technical details as much as possible. I currently use a WISP for all my internet/phone/entertainment needs, and this understanding will help me if I ever need to intelligently talk with my WISP if/when things go bad.

My understanding is that one local WISP tower can communicate with "hundreds" of customers in the area at the same time. This is the main area I'd like to understand. How is this accomplished?

Are there generally multiple transceivers/dishes on one tower to talk with all these customers? (I'm guessing that there isn't one transceiver/dish per customer on the tower, correct?)

I'm guessing that there must be multiple customers assigned each transceiver/dish on the local tower, with each customer assigned to a 'channel' on that dish? (one channel per customer?). Is this similar in concept to an 'ethernet switch' built into each of the tower's transceivers to allow it to communicate with multiple customers at the same time? How many channels are generally on each of the tower's transceivers? 8? 16? or?

Does the tower's transceiver need to be 'pointed at' a customer, or is it broadcast in all directions (or 180 degree view?, or?) from the tower? Then it's up to each customer's dish to point to the tower? (this is my bet)

What stops a person (a non-customer) from simply pointing a dish at a tower and 'pirating' a connection? The hardware does not look proprietary. Simply a password protects this? Do they use public-private key encryption on each channel? Just curious.

I'm just guessing at most of this.