DNS severs, Speed, and TreeWallk program

compuworm

OK, first I should admit right off I am a noob at this stuff but I can't seem to stop myself from wanting to make my system  put out like a broken candy machine.  Anyway, I found these links and though others might find some useful information. 

I use comcast as my ISP and although there are some damn good links in the Testmy.net forums regarding comcast I haven't seen anything regarding DNS problems and comcast (probably didn't look hard enough).  Specifically, I mean how is DNS linked to speed?  Is comcast's DNS server numbers better than, lets say, public DNS severs numbers?  How do I find those DNS values that work best for me? 

Further, how many here are using TreeWalk (TreeWalk is a "free personal use", automatically installed DNS name caching only server which is similar to, but more efficient than using your default ISP's DNS servers)?  Anyway below is some links take a look and let me know your thoughts or just tell me to shut up.

Thanks,

compuworm

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,12909225

http://ntcanuck.com/downloads.htm

http://chris.pirillo.com/blog/_archives/2005/4/7/563752.html (look at the six text box down)

I use comcast as my ISP and although there are some damn good links in the Testmy.net forums regarding comcast I haven't seen anything regarding DNS problems and comcast (probably didn't look hard enough).  Specifically, I mean how is DNS linked to speed?  Is comcast's DNS server numbers better than, lets say, public DNS severs numbers?  How do I find those DNS values that work best for me? 

Thanks,

compuworm

DNS translates the address you type into an IP address on the internet. If the server is slow, it can take longer for that translation to happen. Other that that, it shouldn't affect your speeds too much. I personally use 4.2.2.2 and 4.2.2.3 for my DNS servers. I'm also on Comcast.