I'm new to Raid 0+1

Le_Murphant

I have never done a raid arrangement before, and I plan on doing one on my next rig (raid 0). I'm not a freak about data integrity, I have no files that are overly important, but I was wondering if raid 0+1 could be a good thing. I assume that the basic principle is that you have 2 discs in raid 0 and one separate that mirrors the whole thing (although I haven't read on the sizes). So I was wondering if that last disc should be twice the size of the other two, or what? And if I decide not to go for raid 0+1, is it possible to have a hard drive that's basically like an external hard drive but that's inside, meaning that I only turn it on when I want (let's say for backups)? Finally, does having 2 hard drive make the computer much noisier? Obviously, there is two times as much noise made by the disks, but is it really noticeable? Thx.

First of all, RAID 0+1 generally means using four hard drives, but it's always an even number. Two for the original striped array, and two more for backup for example.That's a considerable increase in noise, while you're still at the disk capacity of one hard drive, and even close to twice the noise one hard disk creates. It's an increase of 9 dB, regardless of what hard drives are used, and a 10 dB increase counts as twice as loud for our ears (even though it's a factor 10 increase in noise power level, as it's a logarithmic scale). You'll notice the difference :)

Second, it's complete overkill for most, you have to ask youself: Do I really need all that speed, and am I willing to pay the price for it as well?

RAID 0 on its own makes it twice as likely that you lose the data on those harddisks, adding RAID 1 lowers the odds somewhat, but because of using four harddisks in total, it's still possible. So there is also a higher cost for maintaining the RAID set-up.