Why the Propaganda?

billiejackfu
Go to solution Solved by jrtcjrjr,

As a network admin I don't know why you lie to people. I literally just tested your site and watched my network throughput on both your site and speedtest.net and your site gives a false reading.

Download/Upload:

ISP: Frontier FiOS (35Mbps/35Mbps - Advertised)

Your Site Down: 35.27

Your Site Up: 23.1Mbps

My PC Down: 36.1Mbps

My PC Up: 35.2Mbps

Speedtest.net: 35.91Mbps

Speedtest.net: 35.72Mbps 

How is it that your site is showing an incorrect value for upload (verified via my NIC), about 12Mbps difference. 

It's constantly the case. 

I typically only use this site after a speedtest.net test and yours is always, ALWAYS wrong. 

• Solution

It might be worth your time to research OOKLA and how they measure throughput. OOKLA (Speedtest uses the OOKLA FLASH based speed test) drops out of the calculation the top and bottom 10% - claiming they represent outliers. Then they drop another 20% off the bottom - assuming those values represent ramp-up. That leaves the 30% to 90% group for the measurement. I find the testmy.net large file size test to provide the most representative evaluation of my service provider. I see the ramp-up, then the surge (that my provider utilizes) and then the leveling off at my paid for throughput rate. 

Aside from all that it seems bad form to begin a conversation by calling people liars. OOKLA is showing the speed during what they perceive as the optimum 60% of the throughput speed. I suspect you are comparing apples and oranges.

Mine reports lower too.  But if you take everything into account, from start to finish.. it adds up.

Sorry you're not getting the results you'd like to see.  If you think I'm wrong... use the other guys.

There are no lies going on here.  Calling it how I see it.  Others see it differently.  TMN isn't as easy.